The University of Southampton

Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 awarded "for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass" to member of Invisibles ITN Network to which SHEP belongs

Published: 6 October 2015

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2015 to Takaaki Kajita(Super-Kamiokande Collaboration, University of Tokyo, Japan) and to Arthur B. McDonald (Sudbury Neutrino Observatory Collaboration, Canada) "for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass" ... "for their key contributions to the experiments which demonstrated that neutrinos change identities. This metamorphosis requires that neutrinos have mass. The discovery has changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe."

In 1998 Takaaki Kajita presented to the world the discovery that neutrinos produced in the atmosphere switch between two identities on their way to Earth. Arthur McDonald subsequently led the canadian collaboration which demonstrated that neutrinos from the sun do not disappear on their way to Earth, but change identity by the time of arrival to the SNO detector.
Takaaki Kajita is collaborator and the scientist in charge of the Univ. of Tokyo node of our European ITN network "Invisibles: Neutrinos, Dark Matter and Dark Energy" (, which has neutrino oscillations as one of its major research lines. This network is coordinated by the team of the Univ. Autónoma de Madrid and it includes 29 European and extra-EU nodes, which includes the BSM sub-group of SHEP in Physics and Astronomy at the University of Southampton led by Professor Steve King and including also Dr. Pasquale Di Bari who are experts in neutrino physics.

Articles that may also interest you

Share this article FacebookTwitterWeibo